Fat Freddys Drop – Based On a True Story (CD) LMNK11

Fat Freddys Drop - Based On a True Story (CD) LMNK11Based on a True Story was the first studio produced album by New Zealand group Fat Freddy’s Drop. It was recorded in Wellington and released on the band’s own label, The Drop. Based on a True Story utilized the band’s trademark dub, reggae, soul and funk influenced sound, and has been successful both in terms of sales and of critical reception. The album followed years of regular touring within New Zealand, a live album, several singles, and appearances on numerous compilation albums in New Zealand and internationally.

Whilst the track listing named previously successful singles such as “Hope” and “This Room”, these songs were in fact rerecorded in entirely new versions for the album. Based on a True Story has to date also spawned a highly successful single in its own right: Wandering Eye, which was awarded the prize for Best Music Video at the 2006 New Zealand Music Awards (18 October).

The album debuted at number 1 and went gold in its first day, and so far has become the longest album by a New Zealand group/artist to stay at number 1. As of June 23, 2007 the album had been in the New Zealand charts for 107 weeks and had gone 7 times Platinum, selling over 105,000 copies [2], making it the second best selling album in New Zealand.

In 2005, Based on a True Story won the New Zealand Music Awards for ‘Album of the Year’, an unusual achievement for an independent label. ‘Based On A True Story’ also features appearances from New Zealand musicians including Ladi 6 , P Digsss, Hollie Smith, Rio Hemopo & Riki Gooch, Nick Gaffaney, Chris Yeabsley & Aaron Tokona.

1. Ernie
2. Cay’s Crays
3. This Room
4. Ray Ray
5. Dark Days
6. Flashback
7. Roady (features P Digsss and Ladi 6)
8. Wandering Eye
9. Del Fuego
10. Hope (features Hollie Smith)

Buy Based On a True Story at the Lovemonk Shop.